May Challenges

I have to admit, April wasn’t such a great month for the challenges. I did keep up the spiritual challenge by reading the daily devotional about giving up worry for Lent, but I’m not sure how much it impacted me. I didn’t do anything with the health challenge, the creative challenge, or the financial challenge. The month of April was an almost complete failure.

But, that’s okay. I’m doing this for twelve months, so a month where nothing happens can be expected.

Now, we’ve started May, and I’ve started some pretty difficult challenges.

For health, I’ve decided to embrace No Meat May and go vegan. Considering I live outside of Asheville, NC, this shouldn’t be so hard. Well, at least that’s what I thought. My first day of going vegan involved being at a home where the hosts were serving homemade brisket and ribs. But, I managed to stick to the non-meat items on the menu.

Also, I had friends come for brunch, and I made an egg casserole that looked so yummy, but I abstained. That was fun.

That said, I’m looking forward to the challenge of avoiding the things that vegans avoid this month. I’ve already found that regular sugar is on the list, which shocked me. This is going to be an interesting month.

I’ve also decided to give up Facebook and Twitter this month. This was inspired by a Facebook post by a friend in China who had found some emotional and mental relief by not being on social media. I don’t know how much F and T have contributed to my general malaise and anxiety, but I figure it has to be substantial. So, I’m going cold turkey with these platforms this month. We’ll see what happens.

And for my creative challenge, I’ve decided to go doable and continue with my one-second-a-day challenge. I didn’t do it every day in April, but I’ll continue in May and see what it gets me. Meanwhile, here’s April.

I don’t have a financial challenge for this month.

So, here we go May. Should be an interesting month!

Author: thimblerigsark

Nate loves the life of the expat, having spent the last fifteen years living in Kazakhstan and China. In Kazakhstan, he founded the Kazakhstan English Language Theater, the first English language theater in Central Asia. Nate is also an educator, and has taught upper Elementary and theater in some pretty far-out international situations. He's the proud papa of three brilliant and beautiful children, and the husband of the lovely Koolyash. Nate is currently working on part II in the Thimblerig's Ark saga. Thimblerig's Ark was conceived while Nate sat in Tommy Condon's Irish Pub in Charleston, South Carolina, listening to the band play a song about why the unicorn missed out on Noah's Ark. Thimblerig's Ark looks at how the animals all made it there in the first place, focusing on a con-artist groundhog named Thimblerig.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started